GetUp! launching national TV campaign against filter

According to the Sydney Morning Herald, GetUp! will next month launch a national television campaign against Stephen Conroy’s draconian Internet filter.

While GetUp! hasn’t always been an organisation I’ve been fond of — mainly due to what I considered to be underhanded tactics they used during the 2007 election — I’ve previously made the point that opposition to the filter crosses the entire political spectrum.

“This time it was a dentist from Queensland. The next time it might be a website that criticises internet censorship, or a rival political party,” GetUp national director Simon Sheikh said in a statement.

“The government is asking us to trust them that a flawed system won’t be abused. Australians know and demand better.”

Mr Sheikh said the leaking of the ACMA list was in nobody’s interest but this showed the dangers of this system of censorship.

“We simply won’t know what the government is keeping from us,” he said.

“Clearly, when sites are added in error to this secret list there is no recourse for those affected to appeal, address or even know what is happening.”

Mr Sheikh said Australians would not stand by and let potentially innocent people get caught up in the federal government’s internet censorship.

I couldn’t agree more. I haven’t found a way to donate specifically to the Save the Net campaign (which I assume will go toward running the ads), but if anyone can find it on GetUp!’s website, I’ll provide a link here.

UPDATE: stormcentre has provided this link, but it seems to be more focused on the Internet advertising campaign. I’ll update further if a specific campaign is set up for the TV advertising.

UPDATE: GetUp! is taking suggestions for the upcoming TV ads.

5 Responses to “GetUp! launching national TV campaign against filter”


  1. 1 Tim Andrews March 21, 2009 at 15:44

    Considering GetUp! raised well over $50,000 by people from their anti-censorship advertisements, which they then funneled to other projects before they got caught out and publicly humiliated, I think donations to Electronic Frontiers Australia – which actually is running a proper campaign, and has the ethical integrity to back it up, is far preferable.
    Donate to EFF at http://www.efa.org.au/

  2. 2 stephenconroyisacunt March 21, 2009 at 15:51

    Hey Tim, I understand what you’re saying, but it’s merely a matter of expediency. If EFA were running a TV campaign, I’d suggest donating to them.

    I have made made an enquiry with GetUp! asking if there is a way to ensure the funds make it to the anti-Censorship ads. We’ll see what they say.

  3. 3 Tim Andrews March 21, 2009 at 16:04

    Fair point.
    However couldn’t we put pressure on EFA to produce ads instead?
    Again, and while I admit that due to my personal political views I am somewhat biased against them – particularly post 2007 – I find it very hard to look past GetUp’s very long track record of what I consider manipulation and dishonesty.

  4. 4 stephenconroyisacunt March 21, 2009 at 16:17

    We could, but GetUp is doing it next month, apparently. I’ll wait and see if they reply to my request for more information about the campaign.

    It would be in GetUp’s best interest to provide a guarantee that all money donated will go toward running the ads. I’m sure there are many like us who are hesitant to donate, but would like to contribute to the ad campaign.


Leave a Reply

